Skip to content

Don’t let your heart be troubled

May 13, 2017

Jesus says to me, “Don’t be worried.” (John 14.1) But it is. I can’t help it. I get troubled by so many things. Things close to me, things far away. I pondered that for a moment and I remembered the service last Sunday where the children told us all about Julian of Norwich. I remember the hazelnut and how God holds all creation in the palm of his hand:

“And in this he showed me a little thing, the quantity of a hazel nut, lying in the palm of my hand, as it seemed. And it was as round as any ball. I looked upon it with the eye of my understanding, and thought, ‘What may this be?’ And it was answered generally thus, ‘It is all that is made.’ I marveled how it might last, for I thought it might suddenly have fallen to nothing for littleness. And I was answered in my understanding: It lasts and ever shall, for God loves it. And so have all things their beginning by the love of God.
In this little thing I saw three properties. The first is that God made it. The second that God loves it. And the third, that God keeps it.” (Revelations of Divine Love)

I remember probably the most famous saying of all:

“All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well.” (Revelations of Divine Love)

Then I do what I should have done right at the beginning and I read the rest of what Jesus had to say:

Jesus said to his disciples, “Don’t be worried! Have faith in God and have faith in me.(John 14.1)

“Have faith”, that’s what I needed to hear. I needed to be reminded that I serve God. He is in charge. I can plan, I can work but ultimately the outcomes are all in his hand. It can be scary but I need to let go and trust. I try. I can’t. I’m holding on too tightly to MY responsibilities. I stop trying now. I ask the Spirit to come in. I feel the weight falling away. In ways that defy logic I, like Mother Julian, know without a doubt that, “All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well.”

3 Comments
  1. Jean black permalink

    Just what I need to hear right now. BEST YET!

  2. BettyCawdell permalink

    The right words just when needed,thank you Nigel

Leave a Reply

