Skip to content

Do Not Wash My Feet ~ a poem for Maundy Thursday

April 13, 2017

Do Not Wash My Feet

(Vivienne Tuffnell – from “Hallowed Hollow“)

I would ask you:
Do not wash my feet
For I have not walked
A thousand miles in dusty lanes
that coat sandalled feet in grime,
Nor yet barefoot on the pilgrim way
Wincing at every step away from grass.
My feet have not carried me through
The smoke and filth of battle,
Nor have I stood amid the wives
Who wait to see their men return.
Instead
I would ask you:
Wash my soul instead,
For though I have been spared
The trials of life
That others suffer,
Mine have left their soil
Upon my soul as well

2 Comments
  1. paulht permalink

    This gets exactly where I’m at. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

