Skip to content

Laugh with those who laugh, weep with those who weep

April 8, 2017

I am sitting here reflecting. This has been a roller coaster of a week. A week though dominated by the death of three local teenagers when their car crashed into a tree (http://www.itv.com/news/anglia/story/2017-04-06/three-teenagers-killed-in-crash/).

There is so much that can be said about hope. The Bible says so much about a hope of life that is stronger than death. All true, but this is not the time. Not yet.

This is the time just to be together in our grief and loss. A time to remember and share stories. A time to cry, and cry, as though crying were going out of fashion. A time also to laugh between the tears at the things that they did and said. A time to be angry at the world, even angry at God. I shout at God. If you think that odd for a minister, would you prefer me to lie to him about how I feel? I shout at God knowing that he is big enough to take it. I’m not the first to shout at God, just read these words from Psalm 22:

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
    Why are you so far from helping me, from the words of my groaning?
O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer;
    and by night, but find no rest.

I shout and find him holding me tight in my pain. But my pain is nothing compared to the pain of the families and friends of those three boys. I pray that they too may be held tight; by those around them and by God.

I pray for their comfort but for now I sit with them, weeping with those who weep, and laughing with those who laugh.

Kyle, Dominic and Billy.

Rest in peace and rise in glory.

3 Comments
  1. Roger Key permalink

    Nigel, our thoughts and loving prayers for you all at a time like this. Calvary becomes very personal and extremely painful – strength and courage for you all as you struggle down the Way of Tears together as the Family of Jesus. May you all find it to be a time of anointing.

  2. Verona permalink

    Amen

Leave a Reply

