Skip to content

Meditations on hate and love

March 25, 2017

A few days ago I was shocked by the terrorist attack on the heart of my capital city. I watched those events unfold on the news and I was reminded about the reality of evil. What happened there was hate fuelled evil. I prayed for those killed or injured, as well as for their families and friends. I also pray for all of those who have been injured in mind or soul by that display of evil and hate.

As I watched the news coverage it was clear that the commentators could make no sense of it: Of course they couldn’t; hate by it’s very nature is not sensible or rational! It was evil because that act caused pain and harm, not in self-defence but simply to make a political/religious point. It was a corruption of even basic human decency and was an act unworthy of anyone claiming to have a faith in the one true God.

What sick, deluded people those terrorists must be. They seek to honour god by their actions, and they do, but not the god they intended. They are deceived into serving a god with a very different name; the father of lies, hate and all evil. Their false god must be pleased with them now!

I’ve found that many people agree with me that those terrorist acts were hateful and evil. I for one have found people more ready to believe in the reality of evil and hate, than in the power of goodness and love. They can see the power of the fist but are blind to the power of kindness, gentleness, humility, meekness, and patience; forgiveness, and peace – all features of love, or more accurately, they are all features of God’s love. They are also features of a love that is closer to home; the love of a good mother and I would hope the love of a good father too.

These features of love are all from one of the Bible readings for Mothering Sunday (Colossians 3.12-17). These are all aspects of a perfect mother; they are also descriptions of love in action offered to all of Jesus’ followers. I just want to share a junk of that passage to show what I mean (Colossians 3.12-15): 

God loves you and has chosen you as his own special people. So be gentle, kind, humble, meek, and patient. Put up with each other, and forgive anyone who does you wrong, just as Christ has forgiven you. Love is more important than anything else. It is what ties everything completely together.

Each one of you is part of the body of Christ, and you were chosen to live together in peace. So let the peace that comes from Christ control your thoughts.

We have seen a display of evil and hate by false followers of god. What I long for now is a response from all of God’s true followers that shows just how futile hate is when compared to love, and how pathetic evil is when compared to good. I pray that Jesus will give me his peace, peace that will control my thoughts. Then my actions will indeed be gentle, kind, humble, meek, and patient; that I will be loving, or at least more loving that I am.

My message to myself right now is, “Don’t let evil defeat you, but defeat evil with good.” (Romans 12.21 CEV).

 

I pray for good to come from this evil. What better way to defeat evil! I pray that more and more people will see the deep and practical wisdom of Jesus’ teaching, and turn to the God who is love. I pray that more and more people will be disgusted by hate and learn the truth that, “God is love, whoever lives in love, lives in God, and God in them” (1 John 4.16). 

Or put another way:

God is love.

keep on loving others,

stay one with God,

and he will stay one with you.

Amen


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

