Skip to content

My stupidity, and other close friends!

January 21, 2017

I can be so stupid at times. Quite a lot of the time in fact. So much so that I’ve had to make friends with my stupidity. It’s with me so much that there is no point in us being enemies.

I’ve found a wonderful quote: “The probability of someone watching you is directly proportional to the stupidity of your actions.” I found it along with an amusing a picture of a cat with its head stuck in a tube of biscuits.

cat-in-jar

The cat certainly looks ridiculous. I don’t know whether the saying is true but it is certainly true that you remember every time someone sees you doing something stupid. Indeed, reflecting on my life, I’ve been so stupid I must be under constant surveillance!

I still shiver when I remember making my school friends laugh at an impression of one of our teachers. He had a hunchback and I was doing a Quasimodo impression that had them all collapsing in laughter. Then they all went quiet, but it took me a while to notice. When I did notice the silence, I realised that someone was behind me. There was that horrible prickly feeling down my back. I knew from the horror in my friends’ eyes that my teacher was standing there at my back. I still feel the horror and the shame. That day it certainly felt like, “The probability of someone watching you is directly proportional to the stupidity of your actions.” I only wish I had being stealing biscuits like that cat.

After finding the cat picture, I looked online at t-shirts and found one with the logo, “Quick, Jesus is coming. Look busy!” That same school boy humour that had got me into so much trouble all those years ago, crept back and made me giggle.

Then I thought about the real Jesus and the phrase that became his catch-phrase, “Repent for the kingdom of heaven is close at hand.” That phrase is repeated in the gospels but I was drawn to the version from Matthew 4.17. But when I looked it up in two translations pretty true to the Greek, I found that more accurately the phrase should be, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven has come near.”

For years, I had thought of that phrase as meaning, “Jesus is coming back soon”. I thought it was like Jesus’ saying in Revelation that he will come soon (see Revelation 22.7 and 22.12). But the phrase in Matthew 4 is very different. In the gospel Jesus is saying that the kingdom of heaven is very close. This isn’t about a future hope, this is about the here and now.

Wherever Jesus is, then the kingdom of heaven must be close, in fact it is probably already there. So the call for me to change my ways so that God can transform me, is even more urgent than I thought. It is as though I am still aping about and playing the fool, not noticing that everyone has gone quiet. This time though, it isn’t my crippled teacher standing behind me; no, this time it’s Jesus himself. I can feel the prickles down my neck already. I can feel the shame. Thankfully, Jesus is used to this stupid, little brother of his. He is far more forgiving than I deserve and so loving that I have no words adequate to describe my awe of him.

So, I am going to do what I can to repent, and allow the Spirit to make me more loving and forgiving and generous and kind and all the rest. I am going to do it now because the kingdom is near. I’m going to do my best now, because sometime I’m going to have to turn around and face Jesus. It would hurt so much to see disappointment in those eyes of love. But, some day, turn around I must. What will I see? What indeed? If I ever get the guts to find out, you’ll be the first to know!

One Comment
  1. Jean black permalink

    Very thought provoking

Leave a Reply

