Skip to content

Jesus, please come soon.

November 26, 2016

I’m writing this with that ache behind my eyes that say that tears are not far away.

Yesterday I heard that a good friend had died. There was no warning. He was in his early 60s (not very old), but he just had a massive heart attack at work. I still feel numb. He was known as “The Gypsy” and he never stayed in one place for long. He would vanish off to some far-flung corner of the world, then a year or so  later there would be a tap on the window or a knock on the door, and there he’d be. In later years he learned to give us a little warning from down the road. He would arrive; we would talk. He would stay for a few hours, or perhaps a day or two; perhaps longer. Then off again, but always to return with amazing tales of his adventures. He went to war zones, and the lawless places of this world. He always came back but I had always feared this day. Only, I had never expected him to be ‘safe’ in this country when it happened.

It doesn’t seem real yet. Maybe, it never will. I have a feeling that I will always be waiting for that tap on the window, or that out-of-the-blue phone call from down the road. I know though that that call will never come. But that vain hope has set me to thinking about another caller that I’m expecting but I don’t know when. I remember that I’m to expect that call from Jesus telling me to come home. I am also to long for the return of Jesus in triumph. I hear again those words of Paul, “You know what sort of times we live in, and so you should live properly. It is time to wake up. You know that the day when we will be saved is nearer now than when we first put our faith in the Lord.” (Romans 13.11)

I read that and I recognise my own mortality. I also recognise the times I live in. I only have to look at the news to know that this world can be an evil and corrupt place. Don’t get me wrong, there is also lots of goodness, love, generosity, kindness and wonder in this world. I do though want, desperately want, to see far more of the goodness and love. Indeed, I want to see an end to evil and suffering; for people and for the whole of creation. That is what Jesus has promised. I work for that now and pray constantly for its completion.

My loss has reminded me to focus far more on what is really important and not to let the distractions around me take over. I need to “wake up” and let Jesus work in me to make me more like him, to make me more loving. I need to not lose sight of the wonderful hope that has been given to me to share. As I wake up the division between worlds becomes thin and I can almost taste the air of God’s kingdom.

Then as I look forward this Advent to celebrating the birth of hope at Christmas, I remember where that hope leads. I remember the cost of the cross, the resurrection and I remember the victory over all that binds this world to sickness and death. I pray my Advent prayers and I look forward with joy and hope for Jesus’ return.

I pray, “Come, Lord Jesus. Please come soon!” (see Revelation 22.20)

I then reflect. I’m still sad and those tears are still not far away. I’ve lost a good friend, but I know that I have a hope that is greater than my loss and pain.

For me, for my friend, for all people and for all things, I pray, “Jesus, you’re needed back here.” I pray, “Jesus, please come soon!” Amen.

4 Comments
  1. Jean black permalink

    Very sad but he seems as if he had a interesting life.

  2. Dianna permalink

    No words can express the sadness of losing a friend. He lived his life to the full. May he rest in peace. He will always have a place in your heart. That’s special for each one of us.

Leave a Reply

