Skip to content

“It’s important to suck up every last drop of life” – Chris Packham

July 9, 2016

I’ve been listening to an interview with Chris Packham. Chris Packham, if you don’t know him, is a naturalist and t.v. presenter. In that interview it was clear that Chris was absolutely, 100% committed to the natural world. His passion shone out of every word that he spoke. That passion and commitment was, for me at least, compelling. That interview made me want to know more, to do more for the natural world. It made me want to check out Chris’ website. The passion is there too. In particular, one phrase from that website really jumped out at me, “it’s important to suck up every last drop of life”.

I thought about that. I agreed whole heartedly that, “it’s important to suck up every last drop of life”.

I look to my church and I am excited to see more and more bishops and ministers who are 100% committed to what they proclaim. I see more and more Christians who are really living their faith too and I’m encouraged. I’m encouraged because not so long ago I saw too many Christians apologising for their faith. No wonder our churches went through a time of decline; no wonder we are starting becoming healthy once again.

Why were we ever embarrassed? Who knows? But what I do know is in my faith I have found something completely life changing. I’m still far from perfect but I’ve definitely become a better person through that relationship. I encourage people to give the Christian life a go because I hope they will find it as wonderful and rewarding as I have.

When I first became a Christian God gave me a renewed zest and love for life, all life. That’s probably why Chris Packham’s words struck such a chord in me. I certainly know how important it is, “to suck up every last drop of life” – thanks Chris, that phrase is going to stick with me for some time!

Over the many years since that first encounter with God things have changed, but that love has not grown less. I’ve been depressed but God has been there in the darkness. I’ve been on top of the world and He’s been there too. As I’m writing this I’m feeling grateful for being able to live in such an attractive and friendly little town. I’m really looking forward to enjoying the rest of this summer. I hope you are too.

 

 

2 Comments
  1. Dianna permalink

    Halleluja and Amen Nugel I couldn’t have said it better myself

Leave a Reply

