Skip to content

Maybe I should just get my nails done?

March 5, 2016

I’ve been reading through the Bible and one word struck me, ant that word is ‘harmony’ (Colossians 3.14 NRSV). What could be more ‘right’ this Mothering Sunday, than ‘harmony’. How many mothers have dreamt of harmony? harmony in their home? harmony in their lives?

So I thought some more about ‘harmony’ and what ‘harmony’ might look like in my life. What would harmony be like in me, my family, in my church, and outside the church? But first I thought I needed to know what ‘harmony’ actually meant. I looked to the Oxford Dictionary online and found that ‘harmony’ means:

  1. The combination of simultaneously sounded musical notes to produce a pleasing effect;
  2. The quality of forming a pleasing and consistent whole; or
  3. The state of being in agreement or concord.

 

Apart from the technical musical meaning I found that ‘harmony’ means:

  1. The quality of forming a pleasing and consistent whole; and
  2. The state of being in agreement or concord.

 

So I’m to work towards forming a pleasing and consistent whole, where ever I am. I am to do my best to find agreement, or at least concord in all of my relationships. This is an aim, a goal, something to aspire and look forward to. But if I’m honest I’d rather leave all of this harmony business to my Mam. It all seems beyond me. How can I get harmony?

“How can I get harmony?” That question wouldn’t let go. So I went online again. This time I just typed ‘harmony’ into my search engine. I wanted to know what was ‘out there’ to help me find harmony. I typed ‘harmony’ and pressed enter, and up popped the results:

  1. The Harmony Centre – Alternative Practitioner
  2. Harmony Hair & Beauty Ltd.
  3. In Harmony Beauty Studio Ltd.
  4. Harmony Store, London
  5. Harmony Sex Shop
  6. Harmony Home Cinema
  7. Nail Harmony UK

 

These were the top 7, the others were similar or dictionary definitions.

The world out there seems consistent and clear. I don’t have to work too hard for harmony, harmony can be bought. I need to let an ‘Alternative Practitioner’ heal me and harmony will come. I need to look to my body, my hair, my nails, and my beauty. Then I need to buy a little ‘help’ from a sex shop, and relax in front of my home cinema system.

Simple, no more working for harmony. First thing Monday morning I’ll book in for a total make over: Or maybe not!

Perhaps, I would do better to go back to Colossians 3.12-17 and find what harmony is really about. I did just that and read:

As God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience. Bear with one another and, if anyone has a complaint against another, forgive each other; just as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in the one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly; teach and admonish one another in all wisdom; and with gratitude in your hearts sing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

 

That’s more like it! First I’m God’s chosen, so are all of His people. So it’s not about me, it’s about God and what he can and is doing in me, to make me “holy and beloved”. I need to let God clothe me with, “Compassion, kindness, humility, meekness and patience”. I need to learn what it is to forgive and to be forgiven but most of all I need to let God clothe me with love.

I need to let Jesus rule in my heart; let his peace and wisdom in, then I can perhaps begin to “do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus.” Then and only then is harmony possible. Then the love of God can weave me into others and others into me. Then the Spirit can pour in the love that I need to build harmony, within myself and with those around me.

Or maybe I should just get my nails done?!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

