Skip to content

Paris Terror Attacks: Hate, evil, anger and revenge!

November 14, 2015
I’ve just got back home after spending a few days with family and friends. I returned to find that this blog had won “Highly Commended” in a competition run by Network Norfolk. Thank you to those who voted for me but today I don’t feel very much like celebrating.
Today I checked the media for the first time for a week only to read of the terror attacks in Paris. I am not surprised but I am deeply shocked by this act of evil. The evil of Syria and Iraq has come to the heart of Europe. This is evil. Armed men with guns and bombs attacked unarmed people just going about their business. Such a brave thing to do to shoot an unarmed civilian then kill yourself so you don’t have to live with the consequences! As you can tell I’m angry. I feel anger and hatred bubbling up inside. I want revenge and I’m not even one of those personally affected!
I feel God is distant so I pray, I pray for those suffering pain and loss. I pray for peace in Paris, I pray for peace. I feel myself falling so throw myself into my Bible. The Spirit opens the words of Scripture to me and realise just how easy it is for evil to win. How easy to be led astray into hatred. I read Mark 13.1-8 and hear Jesus say to me personally, “Watch out and don’t let anyone fool you! Many will come and claim to be me. They will use my name and fool many people” (Mark 13.5-6 CEV).
Thankfully, I heard Jesus in time; in time to save me from becoming a false prophet speaking words of hate in the name of Jesus! I am like a small child frantic with fear so Jesus holds me and calms my panic. Then and only then can I hear the next words, “When you hear about wars and threats of wars, don’t be afraid. These things will have to happen first, but that isn’t the end” (Mark 13.7 CEV). Only then could I hear “don’t be afraid” spoken to me. I then can let go of my fear and let the Love flow in: The love that is perfect, unlike mine. I let the Spirit work and the Father’s love flow and feel for myself what John meant when he wrote, “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear” (1 John 14.18 NIV).
Then, and only then, was I set free to weep. I am crying as I write this. I cry to my loving Father for all who are in pain and suffering. I pray for the healing of those injured. I pray with renewed tears for those caught up in hate. Whatever the cause, hate leads to worship of a god, for sure, but that god is not the god I worship. It is to a false god that hatred leads. That god is father only of lies. It is this deceiver that has welcomed those terrorists; it is this liar that convinced them that he was the God they sought to worship, it is the Devil who reaches out for them now.
I dry my tears and am angry once again. I feel the anger of God at the evil and hatred in this world. I accept that armies may be needed to defend us, but Paris reminds me that when hatred is used to point a gun only evil triumphs.
I turn my anger to God, crying out “Why?” and “How long”. My tears clear once again and I notice that the Bible passages that led me from hate have a single theme. They both look to the end of all hatred and evil. They both look to Jesus’ return as Lord and judge. I pray for the coming of the Kingdom of Heaven in all of its fullness. I pray for the kingdom where “He will wipe all tears from their eyes, and there will be no more death, suffering, crying, or pain. These things of the past are gone forever” (Revelation 21.4 CEV).
Jesus hasn’t come back yet. But while I wait, I pray for patience, the wisdom and love needed to make at least a glimpse of that Kingdom visible here and now. As I wait, I hear Jesus say, “I am coming soon!” and join countless voices saying, “Come Lord Jesus!” (Revelation 22.20 CEV & NIV).
2 Comments
  1. Roger Key permalink

    God’s Word is so relevant – yet again the Bible speaks timelessly and pertinently to our specific need. Thank you for sharing yourself in your vulnerability (and ours) and for using your prayerful tears to anoint our souls at this ghastly time. “Good is stronger than evil; love is stronger than hate; light is stronger than darkness; life is stronger than death. Victory is ours, through him who loves us.” ++Desmond. Thank you, Nigel. Love and Peace – Roger

    • Hi Roger,
      Thank you for your support. Thank you also for sharing those wise and powerful words from Archbishop Desmond Tutu.
      God bless,
      Nigel.

Leave a Reply

