Skip to content

Seeds – Faith just grows

June 13, 2015

Hi, I’m not preaching again tomorrow so I have dug out another offering from WordLive.org from some time ago. I have been thinking about sharing faith. That it seems so daunting but in reality is so simple. Sharing faith is unavoidable when the Spirit is working to affect my life. When I allow him to God does indeed make me more loving and caring. When I allow him the Spirit can naturally scatter seeds of faith out from me without me even knowing it. So here is a WordLive offering on Mark 4.26-29:

Prepare
At the end of the great commission Jesus tells his disciples: ‘And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age’ (Matthew 28:20, NIV). Thank him that he is with us each day.

Comment
Mark 4:26-29 (The Parable of the Growing Seed)

26He also said, “This is what the kingdom of God is like. A man scatters seed on the ground. 27Night and day, whether he sleeps or gets up, the seed sprouts and grows, though he does not know how. 28All by itself the soil produces grain—first the stalk, then the head, then the full kernel in the head. 29As soon as the grain is ripe, he puts the sickle to it, because the harvest has come.”

New International Version (NIV) Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society

Explore
This parable returns to the theme of seeds (meaning the word of God) and Jesus is describing what the kingdom of God is like. As a child I remember trying to grow some sweet peas. I planted the seeds, watered them each day (well, when I remembered!) and waited. I had no idea what happened and how the seed grew into a plant, but with time the seeds grew into shoots and then eventually I had some lovely flowers. In a similar way when we share the gospel with others we are never sure how the seed is sown or how it grows. I could not cause the sweet peas to grow, all I could do was to help take care of them and be patient. It is God who causes the seeds to grow. We do not know how (v 27b), we do not know his timing, but he causes them to grow and makes them ready for harvest (v 29). Be encouraged! Our responsibility is not for the growing of the seeds, but with God’s help, with the gifts he gives us, he will use us to sow and to harvest the seeds of the kingdom.

Respond
What seeds are you sowing? Pray that God will give you opportunities and boldness to share his good news.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

