Skip to content

I know I’m not up to it but I know someone who is…

May 16, 2015

Some years ago I was very active politically. I was a proud member of a political party and active in promoting its message. When I started I wasn’t a Christian but I did still want a better world. I knocked on doors encouraging people to vote for my party. I gave out leaflets. I spoke at meetings. Then I became a Christian and everything changed. Not my political ideals, no now there was even more reason to be involved. Now it wasn’t just my concern, it was God’s concern for a better world that I was fighting for.

Looking back I was a little blinkered. I couldn’t see how any Christian could not be a member of the same political party as me. I was sure that God was!

Now, well I still have the same political convictions, but I have found that there are good people in other  political parties. I have found that no human organisation has all of the answers. Perhaps I’ve learned a little humility. I hope that’s the case. I hope that age hasn’t brought with it apathy! If it has, then Lord wake me up!

I pray that the Spirit will keep me striving to bring something of God’s kingdom into focus for people. I can’t say that it is bringing God’s kingdom to earth, because this is already God’s kingdom, just as much as heaven is. That is clear. Jesus has ascended and is now at the right hand of the Father, reigning over heaven and earth. I want to see real kingdom values here for all people, for no other reason than I know that they are the only values that can bring life, and healing, and contentment. That kingdom values are the only answer to wars and hatred and all evil.

I want to see justice for all, for the rich and powerful as well as for the poor, sick and helpless. I want to see people here with jobs and prosperity. I want to see the young grow up healthy, in body, mind and spirit. I want to see the sick (physical and mental) treated with care and dignity. I want to see a whole and united country. I want to see a country with kingdom values for itself but that also means showing those values in the way that we deal with other countries and peoples.

Then I hear myself and I realise that it all must seem like a utopian fantasy. A nice dream and fairytale. It could seem like that. I am under no illusions that human beings can create a perfect world. I have no illusions that I could run a perfect country, or even a perfect church for that matter. No, I am tainted with the evil corrupting this world, just like everyone else, and everything else.

I am under no illusions that I can make this world good: But I know someone who can. I have no illusions that I can make myself good: But I know someone who can.

I know that there is massive opposition to all that is good and Godly. Honesty and generosity for example seem to challenge the very foundation of a consumer society: A society which only values people for their ability to consume, and then to consume more. I am not a consumer, I am a man created by God, rescued from myself by Jesus, and filled with a love and power that can never be taken away. That is God’s kingdom here and now in me.

Working for The Kingdom is about offering hope to people and organisations and even countries; hope that there is a better way. I have experienced something of that hope and meaning myself, and put simply, I want others to get a share too. I want all people to claim their birthright as children of God. Then with more and more of us filled with the Spirit there will be more and more people who are being transformed into the person they were created to be. People who are more loving, joyful, peaceful, patient, kind, good, faithful, gentle, and self-controlled (see Galatians 5.22-23).

I keep working to show God’s kingdom by what I do and say but I know it’s not going to be easy. I know there is a real fight to come. So I hold tight to Jesus’ prayer for his disciples, for all Christians and for me:

Make them ready for your service through your truth. Your teaching is truth. I have sent them into the world, just as you sent me into the world. I am making myself completely ready to serve you. I do this for them, so that they also might be fully qualified for your service (John 17.17-19 ERV).

I pray that I will be fully qualified to share love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. That is what I long for myself, my family, my town, my country, my world. I know I’m not up to it but I know someone who is…

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

