Skip to content

Oi God, all this harvest of yours – little help!?

October 17, 2014

‘The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few’ (Luke 10.2).

Now there’s a thought ‘The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few’. That was certainly true for my apple trees this year. There were so many apples that we couldn’t eat, cook or freeze them all. Everyone seemed to have too many so we couldn’t even give them away! In desperation I discovered stewed apple in porridge for breakfast – I’ve not had porridge for breakfast since I was a kid but I couldn’t stand seeing so many apples go to waste and I’ve found I like it.

But back to, ‘The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few’ (Luke 10.2).

‘The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few’. I totally agree. This is such a famous verse and the emphasis is nearly always on ‘the workers are few’. So much so that it has become a bit of a moan and a whinge. I’ve used it myself, many times, and always because I could really do with more help. Of course that assumes that because I need more help then it must be God’s priority too. But there’s something missing here. A key point – the other part of the verse in fact – but why let that get in the way of a good whine!

But when I’ve stopped feeling sorry for myself I can step back and see a little better. From a little distance I can see that the harvest is plentiful. That’s the key; I have to see and really know that the harvest is plentiful. Do I really think that? I know I want it to be true but is it? With that thought I stopped and thought and prayed a little. The picture I got back from the Spirit was indeed of a massive, bumper harvest – a harvest with enough for all and plenty to spare. A harvest like my apple crop – completely over the top. I need to remember that. I need to see God’s amazing harvest in my mind’s eye – then I can claim that verse – then and only then have I any right to call to God, ‘Oi God, all this harvest of yours – little help!?’

Then I need to get back on with the picking and all the rest. That’s the next danger. The great harvest is seen, the call for help has gone out, but then I am tempted to sit back on my but and wait for the other workers. That’s not the way. I’ve been employed by my Lord to work now. So I need to get on with the work now. Then when the others arrive I’ll have help. But how will me being unfaithful help? – it won’t. So I need to give myself a kick up the but, get up and get working.

Once I start I love it. But it’s so easy to forget and sit and moan and whinge and whine about so much harvest and so few workers. I need to remember that it’s not my harvest; it’s God’s harvest. I call for workers then my job is to get on with the work. The harvest will be gathered. All will be well. Perhaps that’s the secret – if all of us see the harvest and start work, we’ll look up and see the fields full of workers!

‘The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few’ – Faith in the harvest first, then start work and the rest will fall into place. Amen.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

