Skip to content

Will You Hold My Hand – A poem for Maundy Thursday and Good Friday by Vivienne Tuffnell

March 28, 2013

A very thought provoking poem which needs reading slowly and quietly. I agree entirely. The temptation is to jump out of the pain and dark to the light of Easter. But if you follow that temptation you never really understand the light, or the dark.

Zen and the Art of Tightrope Walking

Will you hold my hand?

Will you hold my hand

As I sit in the darkness?

Will you sit with me,

Make darkness less lonely?

Will you give my hand

A gentle squeeze,

Warm my cold flesh

With warmer skin?

Please do not tell me

About a light I cannot see.

I will not believe you

And the dark will be denser

For the lies I think

You tell me then.

My eyes are wide open

And I am not blind.

Will you hear my words

As we sit the long night out

Without disputing my right

To voice my thoughts?

Will you let me speak

My soul’s story aloud

Without interrupting

With unneeded reassurance?

Just take my hand

Sit with me in silence

Let the darkness be dark

And wait with me.

View original post

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

