Skip to content

Creator God

December 25, 2012

John 1.1-14: 1 ¶ In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 The same was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4 In him was life; and the life was the light of all.

 Perhaps I’m strange, I suspect I may be, but those words always send shivers down my spine. The Word is short hand for the creative power of God, the one that hovered over creation at the beginning of time. In those few simple sentences we are told that the creative power of God became part of that creation as a baby, the baby that grew up to be Jesus our saviour.

 It is this Jesus who has completely transformed the way I live, and the way I see the world. The existence of a creator God who loves me and who cares for all living things is now so obvious to me that sometimes I forget that it isn’t the same for everyone.

 I don’t know why that should be, I only know that it is true and that I am very lucky. I am no better than anyone else, so I can’t explain why God’s existence is clear to me and not to so many other people. But I think it may have something to do with the sort of God that people think they are supposed to believe in.

 Some don’t believe in some old man in heaven – neither do I.

 Some don’t believe in the God who created everything, set it all running, and left it alone – neither do I.

 There are so many strange views about God. Strange cardboard cut-out gods that people put up and knock down. I don’t know whose gods they are, but the certainly are not mine.

 So what is this God like. Well, firstly he is the creator. God is that creating Word, that made everything, including you and me.

 God is the creating Word, so he never stopped creating and being involved in creation. From my experience I know that that Creator God loves what he has made, me, you and everything. That he grieves over all that is wrong in the world.

 People ask, “If God exists, why doesn’t he just stop all the suffering, all that is wrong?” I don’t know. But I do know that the only way to stop all that is wrong would be to stop everything, scrap creation and start again.

 How do I know that God cares? Well partly from experience, but also from that reading about the Word. God cares so much about this world, that the creating Word of God became a human being, became part of his own creation as Jesus.

 I’ll finish with the passage from the Bible that I started with, “John 1.1-14: 1 ¶ In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 The same was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4 In him was life; and the life was the light of all.”

 I know that the Word, the Creator God exists. I know the meaning and purpose that getting to know that God brings. But I don’t know everything. I don’t expect to, I’m not the Creator. So much is a mystery, but a mystery that I would recommend to anyone, you included.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

